Have you ever noticed when you’re on holidays that big ideas just seem to come to you? The problem is, you want to relax and not think about work so you don’t bother doing anything about them and before you know it the great idea has gone up in smoke.

‘Vacation thinking’ is about understanding the need for taking breaks from thinking about your ideas. It’s also about being prepared for capturing the ideas that come when we least expect them. My good friend, Dr Craig, is a mad hang gliding buddy of mine who seems to know the value of ‘leave it’ in the creative process.

Picture the following: we’re flying 4000 feet in the air in a hang gliding competition. I can see Craig in the distance and, as usual, I’m trying to catch up to him. All of a sudden I see him wobble from side to side.

Holiday Season innovation on ideas

Finally, after what seems an eternity, I see Craig straightening up the glider and hear his voice, ‘Nils copy Craig.’ Scared, I ask him what was wrong: ‘Was it some bad air? Was it the glider?’ His response scares me even more. ‘I made a phone call.’

Later, safely back on the ground Craig, who’s a surgeon, elaborates. It seems that he had a host of operations booked in for the following day and while flying high in the sky had a brain wave for one of the operations that he immediately needed to share with a colleague! Now, while you may not share Dr Craig’s daring or, depending on how you look at it, ‘death wish’, attitude and use a phone while dangling in a fragile contraption high above the earth, I’m sure you can see the value in using a phone to capture your vacation revelation.

Holiday season innovation ideas

The mobile phone is simply the world’s best personal idea-capturing device. I reckon I get more messages from myself than anyone else at times. I simply call myself and tell myself the idea. I can then work on it later when I’m back at my workplace. The important thing is that you capture it immediately and work on it later. No need for getting into overtime mentality, simply capture it in 10 seconds and get back to enjoying your vacation.

So for these upcoming holidays, enjoy your break yet capture those good ideas (there will be more of them than you can imagine).

If you want to really kick start innovation in 2014 we have just a couple of places left in our 12 month Innovation Blueprint Program. For more info just shoot us an email or give us a call on 1300 139 272 to find out more.

Happy Holidays from all of us at Innovation Blueprint and we look forward to sharing our innovation insights in 2014.

Interested in more innovation support? Check out the world’s first 12 month Commercial Innovation Program. Don’t hesitate to call us at the studio for more information on 1300 139 272 or email us at support@InnovationBlueprint.com.au.

Good Luck to your ideas and have a happy holiday!

Here’s to your big ideas!

Nils

 

Article sourced via: How to Innovate in the Holidays

 

Leave a Reply

